Nicholas Roerich Estate Museum in Izvara
Nicholas Roerich
Estate Museum

in Izvara

O.A. Cherkasova «N.K. Roerich and America»

Original in Russian

Page: 16 from 20 First  |  Previous  |  Next


As the museum was growing, an idea of a larger building or even a sky-scrapper appeared. The design of a 24 story building was approved and later it was upgraded to a 29 story building. First three floors were intended for the museum, Institute and "Corona Mundi", the rest were supposed to locate scientific and cultural organizations and societies. The design included lecture and concert halls and a small theatre for drama and opera performances. The Tibetan library was to store 333 volumes of Kangyur and Tengyur – Buddhist sacred texts for the use of scholars of Tibetan and Sanskrit languages and it truly justified its purposes. The remaining floors were meant for apartments for writers, artists and all those who wished to join American and world culture. The whole house was supposed to become a cultural centre. Lectures, exhibitions, concerts should have been free of charge for those living in the house. The solarium on the top floor was designed for meeting and communication of the house residents. The rent was to be small and affordable for all artistic people.
There were plans to convert in future several more floors into museums of American, Russian, Indian, Latin American art and so on. This exceptional design was successfully implemented by a famous architect Harvey Wiley Corbett. The responses in press after the whole concept was revealed were beyond any expectations. The construction of the building of the museum lasted for several years and was completed by 1929. Thus, thanks to the financial support of Roerich's followers in 1929 the previous mansion that housed the museum was replaced by "The Master Institute" sky-scrapper. On 17 October 1929 a grand opening of the new museum took place. It coincided with the 40th anniversary of Roerich's artistic career. The ceremony was visited by representatives of different countries of Europe, Asia and South America. Presidents of the USA and other countries sent their greetings.

The Roerich museum in New York.
Courtesy of N. Roerich Museum, New York.

The museum burst into a bustling activity and it acquired a reputation on the international scale owing to innovating ideas and Nicholas Roerich's art. According to a special resolution approved by museum's directors, it was declared to be a gift to the American people of all times – a free-of-charge museum, open daily. The museum organised an impressive series of exhibitions, lectures and concerts. Let us remember just a few of them: "Canadian painters", "Art of Mexico", "Water colours and drawings by Polish painters", "Japanese painters" and many others, most of them were then on tour around the whole country. Among the concerts held in the museum were "Finnish composers", "Operas by Pergolesi", etc.

Next Page

Back Home


Museum Address: 188414, Izvara Village, Volosovo District, Leningrad Region, Russia.
Phones: +7-813-73-73-273 (group tours); Phone/Fax +7-813-73-73-298 (general)
Museum Director: Cherkasova Olga Anatolievna
E-mail: isvara_museum@mail.ru

Музей-усадьба Н.К. Рериха в ИзвареМузей-усадьба Н.К. Рериха в Изваре

О.А. Черкасова. «Н.К. Рерих и Америка»


По мере того, как музей расширялся, возникал проект нового, значительно большего здания, а затем музея-небоскреба. Был утвержден план 24-этажного (позднее 29) этажного здания. Первые три этажа предназначались для музея, института и «Корона Мунди», на других должны были разместится научные и культурные организации и общества. Были запланированы залы для лекций, концертов, а также небольшой театр для оперных и драматических спектаклей, утвержден план тибетской библиотеки, в которой должны были находиться 333 тома Канджура и Танджура – священные тибетские писания. Эта библиотека предназначалась для тибетологов и санскритологов и позже полностью оправдала свое назначение. Остальные этажи отводились для жилых помещений, а весь дом задумывался как культурный центр, в котором могли селиться писатели, художники и все, кто имел желание приобщиться к американской и мировой культуре. Лекции, выставки, концерты должны были быть бесплатными для всех, живущих в доме. Солярий на верхнем этаже предназначался для встреч и взаимного общения жильцов. Плата за квартиры предусматривалась низкой, доступной для всех творческих людей.

В будущем планировалось отдать несколько этажей под музеи американского, русского, индийского, латиноамериканского и других искусств. Этот исключительный по замыслу проект был успешно осуществлен известным архитектором Гарви В. Корбетом. Отклики в печати после оглашения всего проекта превзошли все ожидания. Здание музея строилось несколько лет и было закончено к 1929 году. Так, в 1929-м году, благодаря материальной поддержке последователей Рериха, стал возможным на месте прежнего здания музея небоскреб, The Master Institute. 17 октября 1929 года состоялось торжественное открытие нового здания музея. Оно совпало с 40-летием художественной деятельности Рериха. На открытие музея прибыли представители государств Европы, Азии, Южной Америки. Были получены приветствия от президента Соединенных Штатов и многих стран.

Музей Н.К. Рериха «The Master Institute» в Нью-Йорке. Архитектор Гарви В. Корбет
Музей Н.К. Рериха «The Master Institute» в Нью-Йорке.
Архитектор Гарви В. Корбет.

Музей развил широкую деятельность, и имя его укреплялось в международном масштабе благодаря новаторству идей и искусства Н.К. Рериха. Специальным актом, одобренным директорами, он был объявлен даром американскому народу на все времена – ежедневно открытый бесплатный музей. Музеем была осуществлена внушительная программа выставок, лекций, концертов. Назовем лишь некоторые из них: «Художники Канады», «Искусство Мексики», «Акварели и графика польских художников», «Японские художники» и т.д., большинство из них показывалось затем по всей Америке. Среди серий концертов, проходивших в музее были: «Композиторы Финляндии», «Оперы Перголезе» и т.д.



Контактная информация:
Телефоны: 8–813–73–73–273 – заказ экскурсий; тел./факс 8–813–73–73–298
Директор Музея – Черкасова Ольга Анатольевна
Электронная почта: isvara_museum@mail.ru