Nicholas Roerich Estate Museum in Izvara
Nicholas Roerich
Estate Museum

in Izvara

O.A. Cherkasova «N.K. Roerich and America»

Original in Russian

Page: 17 from 20 First  |  Previous  |  Next


Meeting with the builders of the Master Building, New York. Courtesy of N. Roerich Museum, New York.
First row, left to right: Sofie Shafran, Sina Lichtmann, Frances Grant, Maurice Lichtmann,
Nicholas Roerich. June-October, 1929. Meeting with the builders of the Master Building,
New York. Courtesy of N. Roerich Museum, New York.

Lectures delivered in the museum included "Contemporary Russian composers", "Harvests and civilization", "Problems of a modern woman" (read by Eleanor Roosevelt). Over 50 Roerich's societies were in constant contact with the museum.
Wherever Nicholas Roerich went – to India, Asia, to the expeditions, he carried on guiding the work of the museum. His expeditions to the Central and Eastern Asia, purchase of an estate in the Kullu Valley in the Himalayas and establishing of Urusvati Himalayan Research Institute (as a part of the New-York centre) came out as a continuation of this activity.

Nicholas Roerich. Courtesy of N. Roerich Museum, New York
Nicholas Roerich. June–October, 1929. Hall of the East, Roerich Museum, New York
Standing in front of the complete collection of the Narthang Kanjur and Tanjur (Bka'-'gyur and Bstan-'gyur),
obtained by the Roerich Central Asiatic Expedition. Courtesy of N. Roerich Museum, New York.

Simultaneously with cultural and educational work of these organizations, another grand project was in progress: preparation for signing of the international treaty proposed by Nicholas Roerich for the protection of cultural heritage against vandalism during times of both war and peace. The climax of this initiative was signing of this document, known as the Roerich Pact, by the USA and all states of the South America - all in all 21 countries. The signing took place on 15 April 1935 during the special ceremony in the White House in the presence of the President F.D. Roosevelt who supported this idea. The only reason why the Pact did not become global was the Second World War that burst at that time.

Next Page

Back Home


Museum Address: 188414, Izvara Village, Volosovo District, Leningrad Region, Russia.
Phones: +7-813-73-73-273 (group tours); Phone/Fax +7-813-73-73-298 (general)
Museum Director: Cherkasova Olga Anatolievna
E-mail: isvara_museum@mail.ru

Музей-усадьба Н.К. Рериха в ИзвареМузей-усадьба Н.К. Рериха в Изваре

О.А. Черкасова. «Н.К. Рерих и Америка»


Встреча со строителями музея Н.К. Рериха. Нью-Йорк, 1929 г.
Встреча со строителями музея Н.К. Рериха. Нью-Йорк, 1929 г.
В первом ряду, слева направо: София Шафран,
Зинаида Лихтман (Фосдик), Франсис Грант, Морис Лихтман, Николай Рерих.

Среди лекций надо отметить «Современные русские композиторы», «Урожаи и цивилизация», «Проблемы современной женщины» (лектор Элеонора Рузвельт). Свыше 50 обществ Рериха находились в постоянном контакте с музеем.

Где бы Рерих ни был – в Индии, Азии, в экспедициях – он продолжал руководить работой. Продолжением этой деятельности стали экспедиции Рериха по Центральной и Восточной Азии, приобретение поместья в гималайской долине Кулу и создание научно-исследовательского института «Урусвати» (как части Нью-Йоркского центра).

Н.К. Рерих в Восточном зале музея Рериха в Нью-Йорке.1929 г.
Николай Рерих в Восточном зале музея Рериха в Нью-Йорке
перед полной коллекцией Канджура и Танджура (Bka'-'gyur and Bstan-'gyur) –
священных тибетских писаний. 1929 г.

Одновременно с культурно-просветительской работой этих организаций осуществлялся еще один грандиозный проект – подготовка к подписанию предложенного Н.К. Рерихом международного Пакта по охране культурного наследия человечества от вандализма – как в военное, так и в мирное время. Кульминацией этого начинания стало подписание этого документа, известного как Пакт Рериха, Соединенными Штатами Америки и всеми странами Южной Америки – всего 21-й страной. Подписание Пакта Рериха состоялось 15 апреля 1935 года на специальной церемонии в Белом Доме, в присутствии поддерживавшего эту идею президента США Ф.Д. Рузвельта. и только начавшаяся вскоре Вторая мировая война не позволила Пакту Рериха стать глобальным.



Контактная информация:
Телефоны: 8–813–73–73–273 – заказ экскурсий; тел./факс 8–813–73–73–298
Директор Музея – Черкасова Ольга Анатольевна
Электронная почта: isvara_museum@mail.ru