Nicholas Roerich Estate Museum in Izvara
Nicholas Roerich
Estate Museum

in Izvara

O.A. Cherkasova «N.K. Roerich and America»

Original in Russian

Page: 15 from 20 First  |  Previous  |  Next


Nicholas Roerich had a rare gift to inspire people. His new employees made much more than they believed themselves capable of. Thus a publishing house, several schools, a theatre, and a library had been organized by 1923 when finally the Roerich museum appeared.
The idea to create a museum bearing his name was developing and getting stronger for several years. Roerich's belief in a bright future, in increase of knowledge and communion with beauty inspired his friends and many of those who were looking for contacts with him. On 17 November 1923 in New York City under the initiative of friends and admirers of Roerich's talent his museum was opened. The museum’s activity started in the house at 310, Riverside Drive, where two other institutions founded by Roerich had already been actively working since 1921. This event took place already after the Roerichs moved to India (in May 1923).
The core of the museum collection consisted of 315 paintings, presented by the artist. Later it was enriched by other 150 paintings that were on show in 29 cities in the USA. Mostly the works belonged to the early stage of Roerich's art. Among them were "Treasure of the Angels", "Boris and Gleb", "Varangian Sea", several sketches from Finland and Karelia, and also costumes and stage décor for operas of Rimsky-Korsakov, Borodin, Musorgsky, for the plays by Maeterlinck, Ibsen and others. Also among the paintings that Roerich brought to America were "Sword of Valour", "Cry of the Serpent", "The doomed city" (1912-1914). In America they were called the prophetic ones. The collection was further enlarged by the works that were painted in the USA: "Arizona" series, "Grand Canyon", "New Mexico". Much was written about the "Banners of the East" series.

N.K. Roerich. «Cry of the Serpent». 1914.
N.K. Roerich. «Cry of the Serpent». 1914.

Next Page

Back Home


Museum Address: 188414, Izvara Village, Volosovo District, Leningrad Region, Russia.
Phones: +7-813-73-73-273 (group tours); Phone/Fax +7-813-73-73-298 (general)
Museum Director: Cherkasova Olga Anatolievna
E-mail: isvara_museum@mail.ru

Музей-усадьба Н.К. Рериха в ИзвареМузей-усадьба Н.К. Рериха в Изваре

О.А. Черкасова. «Н.К. Рерих и Америка»


Н.К. Рерих обладал удивительной способностью вдохновлять людей, и эти новые сотрудники делали гораздо больше того, на что сами они считали себя способными, так возникли издательство, различные школы, театр, библиотеки и, наконец, в 1923 году – Музей Рериха.

Мысли об основании музея его имени росли и крепли в течение нескольких лет. Своей верой в светлое будущее, в рост знаний и приобщение к красоте Н.К. Рерих воодушевлял друзей и многих ищущих контакта с ним. 17 ноября 1923 года в Нью-Йорке, по инициативе друзей и почитателей таланта Рериха, открылся музей его имени. Деятельность музея началась в доме № 310 на Риверсайд Драйв, где уже находились и активно работали с 1921 года два основанных Н.К. Рерихом учреждения. Это событие состоялось уже после отъезда Рерихов в Индию (в мае 1923 года).

В основу этого первого музея легло 315 подаренных художником картин, затем к ним присоединилось еще 150 картин, демонстрировавшихся на выставках в 29 городах США. Это были главным образом вещи раннего периода, среди которых надо отметить знаменитые: «Сокровище ангелов», «Борис и Глеб», «Варяжское море», ряд этюдов Финляндии и Карелии, а также костюмы и декорации к операм Римского-Корсакова, Бородина, Мусоргского, к пьесам Метерлинка, Ибсена и другие. Среди картин, привезенных художником в Америку, находились также «Меч мужества», «Крик змия». «Град обреченный» (1912-1914). В Америке они получили название пророческих. Коллекцию музея дополнили серии картин, написанные Н.К. Рерихом в Америке: серии картин «Аризона», «Большой Каньон», «Нью-Мексико». Много писали о серии картин «Учителя Востока».

Н.К. Рерих. «Крик змия». 1914 г.
Н.К. Рерих. «Крик змия». 1914 г.


Контактная информация:
Телефоны: 8–813–73–73–273 – заказ экскурсий; тел./факс 8–813–73–73–298
Директор Музея – Черкасова Ольга Анатольевна
Электронная почта: isvara_museum@mail.ru