Nicholas Roerich Estate Museum in Izvara
Nicholas Roerich
Estate Museum

in Izvara

O.A. Cherkasova «N.K. Roerich and America»

Original in Russian

Page: 14 from 20 First  |  Previous  |  Next


Roerich's behests exposed a trend that was new for that time – service to culture. The students were educated in the vein of introducing them to the synthesis of arts. The New School aroused interest, influential people came to teach there and soon the Institute was able to move into larger premises: a beautiful mansion house situated on Hudson embankment in the northern part of Manhattan, on the 103th Avenue.
During the first ten years more than 150 specialists were instructing in all types of arts in the Master Institute of United Arts.
Roerich, however, did not limit himself to organizing only that institution in the United States. According to his statements: "The light of Arts shall move many a heart with new love". It was that motto that had been laid as the foundation of another cultural centre founded by N.K. Roerich in America – International Arts Centre "Corona Mundi" or "The Crown of the World". The name symbolized the idea of world art being available to broad masses in its educational, aesthetic and artistic aspects.
"Corona Mundi" was inaugurated by the exhibition of Roerich's paintings written in America.
These works ("Ocean" suite, "New Mexico" series, "Arizona") embodied the spirit of America. The created centre put was designed to introduce the Americans to the art of other countries and peoples, to establish the international language of art as means of mutual understanding, to support young artists. Starting from 1923 several exhibitions were organized presenting the works of both famous American painters and sculptors such as Robert Henry Rockwell Kent, William Zorach, Gaston Lachaise, and old Italian and Flemish masters: Veronese, Rubens, Dirk Hals, Hieronymus Bosch to name just a few. The exhibitions were sent to major cities, universities, museums and galleries of the country. In 1924 an exhibition of Russian icons was organized, later the exhibition of Tibetan art, then the pictures of American Indians, Australian art and many more. Thus the centre's activity implemented the Roerich's idea of the universal language of art. The press always emphasized the high quality of exhibitions organized by "Corona Mundi".

N.K. Roerich. «Blue Temples (Grand Canyon, Arizona)». 1921.
N.K. Roerich. «Blue Temples (Grand Canyon, Arizona)». 1921.

Next Page

Back Home


Museum Address: 188414, Izvara Village, Volosovo District, Leningrad Region, Russia.
Phones: +7-813-73-73-273 (group tours); Phone/Fax +7-813-73-73-298 (general)
Museum Director: Cherkasova Olga Anatolievna
E-mail: isvara_museum@mail.ru

Музей-усадьба Н.К. Рериха в ИзвареМузей-усадьба Н.К. Рериха в Изваре

О.А. Черкасова. «Н.К. Рерих и Америка»


Заветы Н.К. Рериха выявили новое направление для того времени – служение культуре. Ученики воспитывались в духе приобщения к синтезу искусств. Новая Школа вызвала интерес, в нее стали приходить в качестве преподавателей влиятельные люди и вскоре новая организация смогла переехать в более просторное помещение: красивый особняк на набережной Гудзона в северной части Манхэттена, на 103-й улице.

В первое десятилетие деятельности Института Объединенных искусств свыше ста пятидесяти специалистов преподавали в нем все виды искусства.

Но Рерих не ограничился созданием этого учреждения в Америке.

«Свет искусства будет влиять на многие сердца новой любовью», – говорил и писал Рерих. И этот девиз лег в основание еще одного культурного центра, созданного Н.К. Рерихом в Америке – Международного Центра Искусств «Корона Мунди» или «Венец мира» Это название символизировало идею доступности искусства всех народов для масс в его воспитательном, эстетическом и художественном значении.

«Корона Мунди» открылась выставкой картин Н.К. Рериха, созданных им в Америке.

В этих картинах (сюита «Океан», серии «Нью-Мексико», «Аризона») был воплощен дух Америки. Созданный центр работал над задачей знакомства Америки с художественным искусством других стран и народов, утверждения международного языка искусства как средства взаимопонимания, поддержки творческой молодежи. Начиная с 1923 года состоялись выставки как известных американских художников, таких как Роберт Генри, Рокуэлл Кент и др., скульпторов Уильям Зорах и Гастон Лашиз. Экспонировались рисунки мастеров итальянской и фламандской школ – Веронезе, Рубенса, Дирка Хальса, Иеронима Босха и других художников. Выставки рассылались по крупным городам, в университеты, музеи и галереи страны. В 1924 году была показана выставка русских икон, позже – тибетского искусства, рисунки американских индейцев, искусство Австралии и многие другие. Так воплощалась в деятельности Центра идея Н.К. Рериха о едином языке искусства. Пресса всегда отмечала высокое качество выставок «Корона Мунди».

Н.К. Рерих. «Синие храмы» (Большой Каньон, Аризона). 1921 г.
Н.К. Рерих. «Синие храмы» (Большой Каньон, Аризона). 1921 г.


Контактная информация:
Телефоны: 8–813–73–73–273 – заказ экскурсий; тел./факс 8–813–73–73–298
Директор Музея – Черкасова Ольга Анатольевна
Электронная почта: isvara_museum@mail.ru