Nicholas Roerich Estate Museum in Izvara
Nicholas Roerich
Estate Museum

in Izvara

O.A. Cherkasova «N.K. Roerich and America»

Original in Russian

Page: 20 from 20 First  |  Previous


His Holiness the Dalai Lama proclaimed 1991 to be the International Year of Tibet and chose the Roerich's Banner of Peace to be its symbol. During the whole year the museum conducted various exhibitions and lectures on history, culture and religious beliefs of the Land of Snows.
The museum often welcomes school children and students. Many of them choose subjects related to Roerich for their essays, school projects or diploma works. All visitors notice a special ambience of this place – the atmosphere of silence and tranquillity. As many guests to the museum say, "Here you feel as if you were in the mountains".
After the death of Sinaida Fosdick on 16 July 1983, her co-worker and student Daniel Entin became the Director of the museum. Just like her, he continuously works and lives in the museum since that day, heading administrative and organizational activity, speaking to the visitors, answering letters and e-mails. And what is more, Daniel keeps the promise he gave to Sinaida Grigorievna to cooperate with the Russian followers of the Roerichs and to help as much as possible to the Roerich movement in Russia.
The museum has its own web-site on several languages, where one can find reproductions of Nicholas Roerich's paintings: www.roerich.org. It was created and is maintained now by museum's volunteers. Also museum keeps a large archive, part of which was published in Russia. At present, volunteers are busy scanning it to be published on the Internet, thus making it universally available.
The mission and responsibility of the Roerich Museum in New York are seen as preservation of Roerich's ideas of spiritual and cultural construction.

Web-site of N.K. Roerich's Museum in New York – www.roerich.org

To mark the 80th anniversary of the Roerich Museum in New York, Izvara Estate- Museum put forward an initiative and prepared an exhibition "Roerich and America" on its premises which was opened in October 2003. This exhibition was a joint Russian-American project and was dedicated to the everlasting significance of the American period of Roerich's activity. The exhibits from the Izvara Estate-Museum were supplemented with the ones sent from New York.
The exhibition demonstrated unique photos, documents, first editions of Roerich's books printed in America, books published by the Museum and by the International Art Center "Corona Mundi" (Crown of the World), booklets, museum's placards, museum's employees’ letters and diaries, and so on.
Thus, diversified activity of Nicholas Roerich and his American employees to create the Roerich Museum and other cultural institutions in the USA, their contribution to the development of Russian-American cultural relationship and promotion of the ideas of the Roerich's Pact and the Banner of Peace became known to the cultured public of Russia.
The exhibition, introducing to the unfamiliar period of life and art of Nicholas Roerich in America, emphasizes the unique phenomenon in the history of Russian-American cultural relationship, that belongs both to Russia and to the USA, that is worth studying, popularizing and developing in new historical conditions.
There are all reasons to make contributions to this peacemaking process, to continue developing Russian-American cultural connections not only by means of the two Roerich's museums in New York and in Izvara, but by all interested cultural forces of the two countries.


Back Home


Museum Address: 188414, Izvara Village, Volosovo District, Leningrad Region, Russia.
Phones: +7-813-73-73-273 (group tours); Phone/Fax +7-813-73-73-298 (general)
Museum Director: Cherkasova Olga Anatolievna
E-mail: isvara_museum@mail.ru

Музей-усадьба Н.К. Рериха в ИзвареМузей-усадьба Н.К. Рериха в Изваре

О.А. Черкасова. «Н.К. Рерих и Америка»


1991-1992 год был объявлен Далай-ламой годом Тибета. В качестве символа Его Святейшество выбрал рериховское Знамя Мира. В течение всего этого года Музей проводил разнообразные лекции и выставки, связанные с историей, культурой и религией Страны Снегов.

В Музей часто приходят школьники и студенты колледжей; многие из них выбирают рериховские темы для сочинений, курсовых и дипломных работ. Все посетители отмечают особую атмосферу этого места – атмосферу тишины и покоя. «Здесь чувствуешь себя, словно в горах» - говорят многие из гостей музея.

После смерти З.Г. Фосдик 16 июля 1983 года директором музея стал ее сотрудник и ученик Дэниел Энтин, который так же бессменно, как и она, живет и работает в музее с этого дня, ведет административную и организационную работу, беседует с посетителями, отвечает на письма и электронную почту. Кроме того, Дэниел продолжает выполнять данное им Зинаиде Григорьевне обещание – сотрудничать с российскими рериховцами и помогать, насколько возможно, Рериховскому движению в России.

У музея есть свой веб-сайт: www.roerich.org с текстом на нескольких языках и множество картин Н.К. Рериха. Веб-сайт оформлен и поддерживается волонтерами музея.

В музее также есть большой архив. Часть его была опубликована в России; сейчас волонтеры музея постепенно сканируют архив, чтобы впоследствии поместить его в Интернете и сделать доступным всем.

Музей Рериха в Нью-Йорке видит свою основную миссию и ответственность в том, чтобы сохранить рериховские идеи духовно-культурного строительства.

Интернет-сайт музея Н.К. Рериха в Нью-Йорке www.roerich.org
Интернет-сайт музея Н.К. Рериха в Нью-Йорке www.roerich.org

80-летие основания музея Н.К. Рериха в США было отмечено по инициативе музея-усадьбы Н.К. Рериха в Изваре выставкой «Рерих в Америке», открывшейся в октябре 2003 года. Выставка, ставшая совместным русско-американским проектом, была посвящена непреходящему значению американского периода деятельности Н.К. Рериха. Имевшиеся в фондах музея-усадьбы экспонаты были дополнены присланными из США из музея Н.К. Рериха в Нью-Йорке.

На выставке представлены уникальные фотографии, документы, первые издания книг Н.К. Рериха в Америке, книги, изданные Музеем и Международным художественным центром «Корона Мунди» («Венец Мира»), буклеты, афиши Музея, письма и дневники сотрудников и т.д.

Таким образом, разносторонняя деятельность Н.К. Рериха и его американских сотрудников по созданию музея Рериха и других культурных организаций в США, их вклад в развитие русско-американских культурных связей и продвижение идей Пакта Рериха и Знамени мира стали доступными культурной общественности России.

Выставка, давая представление о малоизвестном периоде жизни и творчества Н.К. Рериха в Америке, обращает внимание на уникальное явление в истории русско-американских культурных отношений, принадлежащее одновременно России и США, заслуживающее изучения, популяризации и развития в новых исторических условиях.

Есть все основания внести свою лепту в этот миротворческий процесс, продолжить развитие русско-американских культурных связей не только средствами двух музеев Н.К. Рериха в Изваре и Нью-Йорке, но всех заинтересованных в этом культурных сил двух стран.



Контактная информация:
Телефоны: 8–813–73–73–273 – заказ экскурсий; тел./факс 8–813–73–73–298
Директор Музея – Черкасова Ольга Анатольевна
Электронная почта: isvara_museum@mail.ru