Nicholas Roerich Estate Museum in Izvara
Nicholas Roerich
Estate Museum

in Izvara

O.A. Cherkasova «N.K. Roerich and America»

Original in Russian

Page: 19 from 20 First  |  Previous  |  Next


This was a huge trial not only for Nicholas Roerich who was far away from the USA at that time, in the expedition to Manchuria, but also for his American supporters. Without going into the smallest details of this drama, let us point out the most important thing: Roerich's American employees headed by Sinaida Fosdick honourably stood the stern test. In spite of the events of the late 1930-s, interrupting the museum activity, military and economical crises, the museum was restored in 1949. At present it is not only the largest collection of Roerich's paintings in the world, but also a major cultural centre working under the motto, pronounced by Nicholas Roerich: "Pax per Cultura" (Peace through culture).
The Roerich Museum was reopened in a new building located at 319 West 107th Street. When the suitable building was found, it was bought by Baltazar Bolling, the Roerichs' follower and let to the museum. In a year he sold the house to the husband of one of the most devoted disciples of the Roerichs - Katherine S. Campbell. Upon the death of her husband the house passed into Catherine’s full possession and she donated it as a gift to the museum. She also presented part of her private collection of Nicholas Roerich's paintings and funded launching of publishing activity: printing post-cards, reproductions and books.

319 West 107 Street, New York.
Modern building of N. Roerich Museum, New York.

Sinaida Grigorievna Fosdick was a continuous Director and guardian of the new museum since the day of its foundation in 1949 and till her death on 16 July 1983. Thanks to her incredible persistence, faithfulness and energy Roerich's work in America continued both in the new museum and in "Agni-Yoga" society, set up in 1946.
The paintings for the museum were gathered from private collections. Sinaida Grigorievna travelled to several countries to persuade people to donate the paintings. She managed to retrieve them from Argentina, Paris, Bruges. At present the museum houses over 200 works by Nicholas Roerich and more than 50 works by his son, Svetoslav. Thus, since 1949 two Roerich institutions are working in the house at 319 West 107 Street: the Roerich Museum and "Agni-Yoga" society. Members of these institutions, as well as visitors of the museum, come from various countries of the world.
The Museum is open to public. It publishes and distributes both books written by Nicholas Roerich himself and books about him; postcards, reproductions of his paintings, makes films about life and art of Nikolay Konstantinovich. On the regular basis the museum organises poetic soirées and concerts of mostly young musicians and singers. Annually a poetic competition is held, the winner of which receives a prize named after Nicholas Roerich. According to the Roerich's tradition, visits to the museum or to the concerts are free of charge.

Next Page

Back Home


Museum Address: 188414, Izvara Village, Volosovo District, Leningrad Region, Russia.
Phones: +7-813-73-73-273 (group tours); Phone/Fax +7-813-73-73-298 (general)
Museum Director: Cherkasova Olga Anatolievna
E-mail: isvara_museum@mail.ru

Музей-усадьба Н.К. Рериха в ИзвареМузей-усадьба Н.К. Рериха в Изваре

О.А. Черкасова. «Н.К. Рерих и Америка»


Это было большое испытание не только для Н.К. Рериха, который находился в это время далеко от США, в экспедиции в Маньчжурии, но и для его американских сотрудников. Не вдаваясь в подробности этого драматического периода, следует подчеркнуть главное: американские сотрудники Н.К. Рериха во главе с Зинаидой Фосдик с честью выдержали суровое испытание и, несмотря на события конца 1930-х гг., прервавшие деятельность Музея, военные и экономические кризисы, музей был воссоздан в 1949 г. и в настоящее время не только представляет одно из крупнейших собраний картин Н.К. Рериха в мире, но и является крупным культурным центром, основным девизом деятельности которого остаются слова Н.К. Рериха «Pax per Cultura» – «Мир через Культуру».

Музей Рериха продолжил свою деятельность на новом месте в новом здании на 319 Вест 107-й улице. Когда здание нашлось, его сначала купил последователь Рерихов, Балтазар Боллинг и предоставил его музею. Через год он продал дом мужу одной из самых верных учениц Рерихов, Кэтрин Кэмпбелл-Стиббе. После смерти мужа Кэтрин унаследовала здание и передала его в подарок музею. Она же подарила часть своей коллекции картин Н.К. Рериха, а также финансировала начало издательской деятельности – издание открыток, репродукций, книг.

Современное здание музея Н.К. Рериха в Нью-Йорке.
Современное здание музея Н.К. Рериха в Нью-Йорке.
319 West 107 Street, New York.

Зинаида Григорьевна Фосдик была бессменным директором и стражем нового музея со дня его основания в 1949 году и до ее смерти 16 июля 1983 года. Благодаря ее невероятным упорству, преданности и энергии работа в Америке продолжалась как в новом музее, так и в организованном в 1946 году Обществе Агни-Йоги.

Картины для музея были собраны из частных коллекций. Зинаида Григорьевна объехала несколько стран, убеждая людей пожертвовать их картины. Ей удалось вернуть картины из Аргентины, Парижа, Брюгге. Сейчас коллекция музея включает более 200 картин Н.К. Рериха и более 50 картин С.Н. Рериха. Так с 1949 года по адресу 319 West 107 Street работают две Рериховские организации: Музей Рериха и Общество Агни-Йоги. Члены этих организаций, как и посетители музея – люди из самых разных стран мира.

Музей Рериха принимает посетителей, издает и распространяет как книги самого Н.К. Рериха, так и книги о нем, открытки и репродукции его картин, видеофильм о жизни и творчестве художника. В музее регулярно проходят концерты и поэтические вечера. Исполнители – главным образом молодые музыканты и певцы. Проводится ежегодный поэтический конкурс, победить которого получает премию имени Н. Рериха. По старой Рериховской традиции, вход в Музей, на концерты и вечера – бесплатный.



Контактная информация:
Телефоны: 8–813–73–73–273 – заказ экскурсий; тел./факс 8–813–73–73–298
Директор Музея – Черкасова Ольга Анатольевна
Электронная почта: isvara_museum@mail.ru