Nicholas Roerich Estate Museum in Izvara
Nicholas Roerich
Estate Museum

in Izvara

O.A. Cherkasova «N.K. Roerich and America»

Original in Russian

Page: 5 from 20 First  |  Previous  |  Next


This event became a certain apotheosis in Nicholas Roerich's indefatigable educational and organisational activity in the sphere of culture protection, in introducing to the international law system both a legal document – the Pact, that protects cultural values both during war and peace, and its accompanying symbol – the Banner of Peace, a sort of a “Red Cross of Culture”, that embodies the most sublime, universal principles produced by the mankind, viz. understanding culture as a unity of past, present and future achievements of humanity, this unity being impossible without their transmission, that is without cultural and educational process, and understanding of culture as a unity of science, art and religion.
That is what Nicholas Konstantinovich Roerich himself wrote about the subject:

«On 15th of April in the White House all American countries signed out Pact with President Roosevelt present in person. This solemn act is not only a big step in promotion of the Pact, but it also makes the care of the American countries about preservation of cultural values unforgettable. In history of culture the day of 15th of April will remain the material evidence of a real concern for the true values of the mankind.
At the moment of this unforgettable event we cannot but remember several opinions about the Pact that could have been preliminary signs of its further development. The Patron of the third convention of the Pact and the honourable Chairman of the Standing Committee Minister Henry A. Wallace repeatedly convincingly expressed his assurance that the Pact will be accepted and thus will become a momentous step in development of the world culture». (8 May 1935, Tsagan-Kure).

Franklin Delano Roosevelt


Next Page

Back Home


Museum Address: 188414, Izvara Village, Volosovo District, Leningrad Region, Russia.
Phones: +7-813-73-73-273 (group tours); Phone/Fax +7-813-73-73-298 (general)
Museum Director: Cherkasova Olga Anatolievna
E-mail: isvara_museum@mail.ru

Музей-усадьба Н.К. Рериха в ИзвареМузей-усадьба Н.К. Рериха в Изваре

О.А. Черкасова. «Н.К. Рерих и Америка»


Это событие стало определенным апофеозом неустанной просветительской и организационной деятельности Н.К. Рериха по защите культуры, по внесению в международное правовое поле как юридического документа – Пакта, охраняющего ценности культуры как в военное, так и в мирное время так и сопутствующего ему символа – Знамени Мира, своеобразного красного креста культуры, воплощающего в себе самые возвышенные, универсальные принципы, выработанные человечеством: понимание культуры как единства прошлых, настоящих и будущих достижений человечества, невозможного без их передачи, то есть культурно-образовательного процесса и понимания культуры как единства науки, искусства и религии.

Сам Николай Константинович Рерих так писал об этом:

«15-го апреля в Белом Доме при личном участии Президента Рузвельта все государства Америки подписали наш Пакт. Этот торжественный акт не только является большим продвижением Пакта, но и делает незабываемой заботу американских государств об охранении Культурных ценностей. В истории Культуры день 15 апреля останется как вещественное доказательство действенной заботы об истинных ценностях человечества.
Около этого незабываемого действа нельзя не вспомнить несколько мнений о Пакте, как бы предуказывающих его дальнейшее продвижение. Покровитель третьей конвенции Пакта и почетный председатель Постоянного Комитета министр Уоллес неоднократно исчерпывающим, убедительным словом выражал свою уверенность в том, что Пакт будет принят и послужит знаменательною ступенью в развитии мировой Культуры». (8 мая 1935 г., Цаган Куре.)
Ф. Рузвельт, Президент США в 1933-1945 гг.
Ф. Рузвельт, Президент США в 1933-1945 гг.


Контактная информация:
Телефоны: 8–813–73–73–273 – заказ экскурсий; тел./факс 8–813–73–73–298
Директор Музея – Черкасова Ольга Анатольевна
Электронная почта: isvara_museum@mail.ru